Backing up a VM

VM backups can be configured using a Backup Profile or manually.

 

To manually backup a VM:

  1. Log into the Administration console from the computer you would like to save the VMs backup on if backing up locally. It does not have to be a Host.


  2. Go to the VM list view, right-click the VM and select the “Backup” menu option.

    1. When a VM backup is performed, all VM settings are backed up along with all the data contained within the attached hard drive(s), as a single file.

 

  1. A dialog box will appear allowing the selection of where the backup will be sent.

Locally. The VM will be backup to the computer you are running the Administration console on.

Host.    The VM will be backed up to a Host you select.

 

 

If the "Locally" option is selected, a dialog will appear allowing you to select the file name and directory of the backup file.

 

Backup files have the default file extension of .tsb

The progress bar at the bottom of the dialog box follows the backup process until it is complete.

The dialog can be closed while the backup is running, but do not close the Administration Console until the backup is complete.

Note: An individual Hard Disk can be backed up in a similar manner.

 

 

If the "Host" option is selected, a dialog allowing the selection a particular Host as the backup location is displayed.

 

The progress bar at the bottom of the dialog box follows the backup process until it is complete.

The Administration Console can be closed once the backup has started.

 

 

All backup job progress can be monitored and managed under the Consoles "Backups" tab.