VMs assigned to a Distributed Host Group will run on one of the Hosts in the group. When the VM is booted, the Infinity server will poll the Hosts in the group and select the Host with the most available resources. If non of the Hosts in the group have enough RAM to run the VM an Error will be shown. Distributed Host Groups allow you to treat many Hosts as a single place to run VMs.
VMs assigned to a Replicated Host Group will be cloned for each of the Hosts in the group, and each Host will be assigned its clone. Replicated Host Groups are used when you want each Host to have an independent copy of all VMs in the Host Group. If a new Host joins the group, a copy of each VM in the group will be created for the Host. The VMs assigned to Hosts will be named with the VM name and the Hosts name. Users logged into the Host will see only the VMs assigned to the Host and not the usual list of VMs assigned to the user. When VMs are powered off, their configuration in VirtualBox will persist. If a VM is removed from the Host Group, the clones will be removed from the Hosts and deleted from the server. If a VM is added to the group, the VM will be cloned and each Host will be assigned a clone. VMs in a Replicated Host Groups are easier to manage if applied from a VM Group.
An example use case is a classroom where each student needs the same set of VMs. The classrooms computers are represented by a Replicated Host Group. For each course, a VM Group could be created. At the beginning of a class, the appropriate VM Group is applied to the classrooms Host Group. The VMs are quickly ready and can all be booted simultaneously from the Host Group.
Some operating system support booting directly from iSCSI targets. If the PXE service has been installed on the Infinity server and an OS has been installed properly on a virtual hard drive of the Infinity server, a computer can boot directly from the Infinity server without any virtualization. A Bare Metal Host Group support one physical host and is identified by its ethernet address. This feature is currently in beta testing mode and not fully supported.
Technically a Host Group can not be renamed. Create a new Host Group and move the Hosts to the new Host Group.
If a user does not have access to a Host Group and they attempt to create a Host Group of the same name, the conflict will be resolved by appending the users name to the new Host Group.
But the VMs could affect each other performance wise if they ran on the same Host.
If the original VM is deleted, all its clones will also be deleted and removed from the Hosts.
The original VMs are assigned to the Host group, so you can select the VM from the Host Groups details and "Right click, Delete".